The Night Country – Melissa Albert

Alice Proserpine has escaped the Hinterland, but she’s still drawn to the other Tales that escaped as well. When some of them are murdered, it looks very much like it could have been her. She has to find the real murderer, and also figure out what happened to Ellery Finch, who may or may not still be stuck in the Hinterland.

This book struck me as dark, and I don’t remember the first book being as dark as this. And the considered the Hinterland tales skew a bit dark, that’s probably saying something. I think I liked the first book better – it was really a journey of discovery. This was an ending, for something I’m not sure I needed to witness the ending to.

One thought on “The Night Country – Melissa Albert

  1. Pingback: 2022 Books Read – The North Wind and the Sea

Leave a comment